Go for the Green Awards Program

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

In an effort to raise environmental awareness throughout Lower Merion Township and to highlight environmental achievements, the Environmental Advisory Council (EAC) sponsors an Annual “Go for the Green” awards to recognize our Township’s finest residents, businesses, organizations and schools located in the Township or who conduct business in the Township for their work to improve and protect our environment.


Joseph M. Manko Lifetime Achievement Award

An individual or group that makes a long term significant impact on environmental issues such as improvement, protection, and awareness of the environment.


Any individual living in the Township or Narberth Borough.

Multi-Family Residential

Any multi-family building in the Township or Narberth Borough.


Businesses located in or providing services in the Township or Narberth Borough.


Nonprofit entities or citizens’ groups in the Township or Narberth Borough.


Schools, universities and affiliated student or youth organizations in the Township or Narberth Borough.

Site Greening

A property that has been enhanced through greening efforts such as the installation of trees, shrubs and other plant material, the reduction in impervious paving, or other improvement to the outdoor environment thereby improving the site ecologically and aesthetically.

2018 Go for the Green Award Application


  • All residents, businesses, organizations, schools and sites located in the Township or Narberth Borough or who conduct business in the Township or Borough. 
  • Eligible candidates will have taken actions which result in improvement or protection of the environment.  Examples include, but are not limited to the following:  conservation, recycling, stormwater management, organic pest management, alternative energy source usage, green building technology, education/outreach, etc.


  • Nominations may be made with or without the knowledge of the nominees.  Self-nominations will be accepted for any of the categories.
  • Complete the attached nomination form and submit it, along with any supporting material, by Thursday, March 22, 2018, no later than 4:30 p.m. 
  • The final assignment to award categories is at the discretion of the EAC and the STC (Commercial Site Greening category).
  • Nominations will be evaluated by members of the EAC and/or STC.
  • The Township shall retain all submission materials unless a written request for their return accompanies the application.  The Township retains the right to exhibit and/or publish the material in furtherance of educational goals.
  • Submittals shall be bound by a staple, binder clip or paper clip and shall consist only of paper with the exception of photographs. Nominations in binders, plastic separators and non-recyclable materials, etc. will not be accepted. Submittals will not be evaluated on the aesthetic of the package.
  • The EAC or STC may choose not to present Awards in all categories.

2017 Go for the Green Award Winners

The Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday, May 9, 2017 at Appleford, 770 Mt Moro Rd, Villanova. The 2017 Go for the Green Awardees were:

Go for the Green Award Category

2017 Winners

Joseph M. Manko Lifetime Achievement Award Carl Watson
Education Award Riverbend Environmental Education Center
Resident Award Jerry D. Levitt, M.D.
Site Greening Award Refugia, Ltd
Multi-Family Residential Award (No nominations received in this category)
Organization Award West Laurel Hill Cemetery


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer